Change Text Size:
  • A A A
  • Quality Assurance Program

    The Quality Assurance Program (QAP) is the only nationally recognized accreditation program for the Adaptive Mobility Equipment Industry. It is based on the principle that in order to satisfy customers consistently, companies must have a systematic and documented approach to quality. The program was developed to elevate the level of dealer performance to reliably meet consumers’ transportation needs in the safest manner possible.

    Accessible Vehicle Modifications

    The QAP designation is indicative of enhanced vehicle modification and adaptive equipment installation consistent with the highest industry standards. Dealers are required to follow guidelines written in accordance with motor vehicle safety standards, a professionally managed dynamic and static testing program and proven quality control practices that advocate the highest level of performance and safety.

    QAP Requirements:

    Dealers who participate in the QAP are held to extremely high standards. They are required to:

    • Maintain Product and Completed Operations and Garage Keepers insurance for liability purposes.
    • Have certified welders if they perform structural modifications to vehicles.
    • Have technicians certified for the equipment they sell, install and service.
    • Maintain records of all adaptive work.
    • Undergo an inspection/audit process at least annually by an independent auditing firm to ensure compliance to the NMEDA Guidelines, certain aspects of the Americans with Disabilities Act, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s (NHTSA) Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS) and “Make Inoperative” mandates.
    • Abide by the Mediation Committee’s decisions when a complaint is lodged by a consumer, a Dealer, or any other person or entity.
    • Provide 24 hour service to their customers.
    • Meet shop facility and equipment requirements.
    • Have four-corner scales.

    Locate a QAP Certified Dealer